Reviews for Brethren Beginnings

Review by: Stacey Clifford on Aug. 01, 2011 : star star star star star
After reading Trinity and being first introduced to the Brethren, I was so excited to learn that Deena was writing little stories about them. I was even more excited when I got the inbox from Deena to review this book. Woohoo who would pass up a chance to read more about those gorgeous Brethren angels?!?!

Brethren Beginnings literally just blew my mind. The book is well written, Deena makes you feel like your there watching it all unfold right before your eyes. We learn how they came to be on earth and the lives they lived before we meet them in Trinity, what an adventure! Those angels in action really gets the blood pumpin.

First I was on a dangerous adventure with Gabriel, he’s a protector. Then I was on a thrilling hunt with Nathanael, and then we went off to save a scary Joy with Cassiel. For a book that’s less than 60 pages, there isn’t a dull moment always something keepin you on the edge of your seat. I finished this book within an hour, I just couldn’t stop reading it. I recommend everyone to give these Brethren Angels a read, you won’t regret a single moment. I can’t wait to read the next volume and get to know more of the Brethren. I’m up for another adventure….care to join me? *winks*


Review by:
DivaV on July 28, 2011 : (no rating)
My favorite angel, by far is definitely Gabriel.
Deena writes a wonderful story.
You definitely get invested in the characters.
Hope to read more about the angels in the future.
(reviewed within a week of purchase)

Review by: LaTonia Mitchelle on July 27, 2011 : star star star star star
I love these angels.. and getting to see them before they find love is great.. we get to meet them and their likes and dislikes.. How they fit into this world.. and their job as angels.. i look forward to much much more.. Deena Is a wonderfully talented writer and I’m glad I found her books..
(reviewed within a month of purchase)

Review by: Lori (Romancing the Darkside) on July 25, 2011 : star star star star
A small but intriguing glimpse into the lives of three angels you’ll want to get to know better!

This short story introduces us to three angels, Gabriel, Nathanael and Cassiel, knows as The Brethren, who have been sent to protect humans from the incessant evil plaguing the earth. Each has been sent with their own purpose, but their fight to overcome evil and compassion for humanity is enough to make you fall in love with these characters. Their stories will touch your heart and crave more of these heavenly souls!

The author draws you in with her writing and really gives these angels an almost human quality that you connect with from the very beginning. Gabriel is the protector of the lost and exploited, Nathanael is the tortured hero and warrior, fighting injustice and then there’s Cassiel, the healer who brings happiness and comfort to sick children. It’s extremely difficult to choose just one but I’m a sucker for a tortured hero and Nathanael won me over with his bad ass warrior ways and conflicted soul!

Brethren Beginnings covers a lot of ground for a novella. It’s beautifully written with well-developed characters that come to life and take you along on their journey to vanquish evil and help the innocent. I’m a paranormal romance lover and even though this book lacked romance, I was just as invested in the story and its characters. Deena Remiel has captured my attention with her eloquent writing and sexy avenging angels which I plan on reading more of!
(reviewed within a week of purchase)

Review by: Robin Parrish on July 19, 2011 : star star star star star
I literally could not stop reading this book once it was downloaded.
Upon starting the story, we are given a little bit of information as to why these Angels are here. Then Ms. Remiel quickly develops the story of 3 different Angels and her descriptions of those characters immediately grabbed my heart.
I can’t wait for more!!
(reviewed the day of purchase)

Review by: Rhonda Beyer on July 19, 2011 : star star star star star
I have to say Deena Remiel is an awesome write, but an even better person. I was involved in a contest of sorts were I got a free coupon for this book, and I forgot to download the book that day. I sent her a message on FB that is was sad that I missed out, Well she took the time out of her day to e-mail me a new code. Just thought I’d let everyone know how great she is….
(reviewed the day of purchase)

Review by: Nancy Black on July 18, 2011 : star star star star star
The minute I downloaded Brethren Beginnings Couldn’t wait to read what was a taut fast paced read. Angels on Earth, Protectors, Warriors and Healers.

Gabriel was my favorite Angel yet each one had a story to tell and a different way of touching lives on Earth. I am touched by the human emotions that racked the Angels in fighting their inter feelings while fighting the pervasive evil on Earth.

There is so much to recommend this ebook for other readers.

Deena knocks this one right out of the Ball Park.

Want and need more Brethren books!
(reviewed the day of purchase)

Review by: Belinda Boring on July 17, 2011 : star star star star star
WOW. Double WOW! Now that I’ve regained my senses, can I quickly laugh? I know… not exactly the kind of reaction you’d think you’d get from me so let me explain. Having met Deena (SQUEE) and read her book, Trinity (SQUEE x2) I was excited for the chance to read Brethren Beginnings for the Menage A Blog Tour she was participating in. One of the first things Deena said was “But it has no romance!” and it’s to that I now chuckle. Dear, dear Deena – yes, I love romance but I love just as passionately HUNKY, SEXY, TORTURED heroes and you gave them to me in a breathtaking fashion! Everyone… clear a space in your hearts because the Brethren have ARRIVED!

How can you not love Angels sent to earth to protect, serve and heal the inhabitants from the effects of Evil. These men put the W in Warrior and S in Swoonworthy. In Brethren Beginnings, Deena gives us a glimpse into the lives of three angels – Gabriel, Nathanael *insert dreamy sigh* and Cassiel. These men each have their own roles but all share the same purpose and I absolutely ADORED them! I couldn’t read fast enough as I watched them face evil head on without hesitation but showed incredible mercy and compassion for those they were helping. I even made the comment that before this book I hadn’t known it was possible to swoon in a NON romantic situation. Well I did and each story touched my heart.

So who was my favorite Brethren? Gabriel, who reached out and saved a group of young people caught up in the depravity of being under the control of a horrible pimp? Nathanael, the tortured angel worried he is losing his grip on the good in him as he delights in delivering justice to the unrighteous? Or Cassiel, the healer who brings joy to sick children and stops at nothing to protect them from the influence of evil? While I loved them all and each made me a little giddy, I confess… Nathanael stole my heart and claimed me his! Sure, I was swayed by the leather pants, boots and sword but it was the inner conflict he had, the despair he felt because he didn’t feel quite “right” anymore. Being a defender of all that is good, he knew he was on a slippery slope and it was pointing down to Hell. So tortured, so delicious, so ready for me to swoop in a save him. I absolutely LOVED the conversation he had with E.L at the end, it gave me hope that Nathanael isn’t as lost as he thinks he is and I can’t wait to see him in future books.

Deena is one of my favorite new authors and one to look out for. She’s a sneaky swoon attacker. You think you’re safe, you think you know what’s going to happen and then she blows you away and leaves you sighing. Make sure you also grab a copy of Trinity, a full length novel staring the angel Michael. Ahhhh so much to say about him but that’s a review for another day. Can’t wait for the next installment!
(reviewed within a week of purchase)

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s